How Many Countries Have Banned TikTok?

Dec. 8, 2022: Taiwan Bans TikTok

There is a prohibition in place in Taiwan that prevents public and government personnel from installing and utilising official devices.

Dec. 27, 2022: TikTok Banned on Official Devices in House of Representatives

The Office of the Chief Administrative Officer sends an email to all members and workers of the House of Representatives informing them that TikTok is not permitted on government equipment.

Feb. 23, 2023: European Commission Bans TikTok

The European Commission, the executive arm of the 27 EU nations, barred its 32,000 workers from using TikTok on government electronics and personal devices that utilise government applications and email.

Feb. 27, 2023: Canada Bans TikTok on Government Devices

Canada banned TikTok from all government devices and may take additional measures. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said Canadians will likely "think" on what the government ban implies for data protection and maybe make decisions.

March 1, 2023: The Latvian Foreign Ministry Bans TikTok

The Latvian foreign minister declared on Twitter that the app had been banned from use in the ministry and that he had removed TikTok from his phone.

March 6, 2023: Denmark Defense Ministry Bans TikTok

The Danish military ministry banned TikTok for its personnel because the Danish Center for Cyber Security found it risked espionage. DR prohibited TikTok on its employees' phones on March 10.

March 10, 2023: Belgium Bans TikTok

Belgian Prime Minister Alexander de Croo bans TikTok on government devices, citing security agency and cybersecurity centre concerns. 

March 17, 2023: New Zealand Bans TikTok

“The dangers are not acceptable in the present New Zealand parliament environment,” the Parliament of New Zealand told its members. They banned Tiktok on March 17.

You can read more stories by clicking the link given below